//
you're reading...
My Week in Books

My Week in Books (28/10/12)

This week’s selections . . .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Peter Pan; or The Boy Who Would Not Grow Up by J.M. Barrie
    On my reading list for university class on Edwardian fiction. More sinister than the Disney film allows. Reading the original play was definitely an eye-opener.
  2. Journey by Moonlight by Antal Szerb
    A totally new writer for me and a really interesting Hungarian novel. Dark and Freudian. Yet, comical and full of life. Read my review here.
  3. If I Touched the Earth by Cynthia Rogerson
    My first review copy! New novel by Scottish-American writer Cynthia Rogerson. I will also be holding a giveaway for this book so check back on Nov 3rd for the review and more details!
  4. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
    Another classic from my Edwardian fiction class and enjoyed it loads! You can read my review here.

So, over to you! What have you been reading this week?

About thethiessenreview

Amateur reviewer. Book obsessive. Cocktail drinker.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “My Week in Books (28/10/12)

  1. Of the four I’ve only read Peter Pan and Wind in the Willows, both fantastic stories, this week I have been reading but Memoirs From the House of the Dead by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, which is a fascinating insight into Siberian gulags from his own experiences.

    Posted by StetotheJ | October 28, 2012, 2:37 PM
  2. House is all about his own experiences and isn’t written like his novels which is why I think it doesn’t get as much love, although Tolstoy said ‘I know no better book in all modern literature’. Crime and Punishment was one of the best books I have ever read absolutely stunning, House doesn’t have that impact but has some fantastic insights, and memorable scenes.

    Posted by StetotheJ | October 28, 2012, 2:45 PM
  3. Peter Pan was originally a play? I dislike reading plays… they should be seen & experienced, not read! That said, I’ve only seen the Disney version of Peter Pan (and we have have the corresponding Disney book as well).

    Posted by kindism | October 28, 2012, 3:05 PM
    • I totally agree! Unfortunately we do have to read the play version for my course. The only benefit is that seeing the lines on paper, without the clues of tone and expression, show you just how ambiguous some of the characters’ comments and insights are

      Posted by thethiessenreview | October 28, 2012, 3:55 PM
      • I suppose there is some value in the ambiguity of reading a play. That said, I loathed Shakespeare until I saw his works preformed as plays and I’m still not a huge fan (my husband has deemed me to be “uncultured” for this “great lacking”…)

        Posted by kindism | October 29, 2012, 3:40 AM
      • Lol it’s only really of importance if you are studying the subject in depth and honestly the first goal of these plays was conveying messages to a live audience in its true form, rather than flat lines for a scholar.

        Posted by thethiessenreview | October 29, 2012, 8:56 PM
  4. I’m following…I’d love a follow back at http://thethingsyoucanread.blogspot.com and/or http://thewritingwhisperer.blogspot.com/.

    Cynthia
    Via Goodreads

    Posted by narniabooks | November 3, 2012, 5:21 PM

So, what you do think?

Follow The Thiessen Review

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Currently Reading . . .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 596 other followers

